University of Texas at Arlington

Scholarly Communication Division

The Scholarly Communications Program provides leadership and guidance to the library and the wider community on issues related to creating, sharing, using and preserving scholarship. The program provides services, resources, and information to UT Arlington faculty, staff, and students to help them navigate the changing landscape of scholarship.

The program

  1. Provides consultation in issues related to publication, such as author agreements and rights management, book contracts, copyrights and public access mandates,
  2. Supports models of knowledge dissemination which reduce barriers to access,
  3. Clarifies questions surrounding open access and open data,
  4. Recruits researchers to deposit their scholarly output in ResearchCommons, and
  5. Partners with researchers in all stages of the research and knowledge creation processes.

The program, headed by the Director of Scholarly Communications, supports in new forms of scholarship enabled by computing and digital technologies and works with liaisons to assist researchers using these tools to enhance their work.


Scholarly Communication Leadership

Kelly Visnak Headshot
Associate University Librarian - Scholarly Communications
Jody Bailey Staff photo
Director of Publishing
Brenda McClurkin portrait
Special Collections, Department Head

Scholarly Communication Team

Sriram Amuluru Portrait
Graduate Research Assistant I
Beverly Carver portrait
Public Services Librarian
Mark Cook portrait
Web and Digital Specialist
Samantha Dodd
Special Collections Archivist
Jeff Downing portrait
Digital Projects Librarian
Maggie Dwyer portrait
Web and Digital Specialist
Karen Hopkins portrait
Special Collections Librarian
Ben Huseman portrait.
Cartographic Archivist
Lynn Johnson portrait
Digital Projects Librarian
Face of Donald Quarles
Web and Digital Specialist
Krystal Schenk Headshot
Web and Digital Specialist
Cathy Spitzenberger portrait.
Photographic Collections Specialist
Diane Turner portrait
Web and Digital Specialist
Peace Ossom Williamson portrait.
Director for Research Data Services
Faedra Wills
Digital Project Librarian
Abhishek Yadav Portrait
Data Graduate Research Assistant I