Republic of Texas Currency

On June 9, 1837, the Congress of the Republic of Texas authorized the issue of promissory notes which circulated as paper money. $1, $2, $3, $5, $10, $20, $50, $100, and $500 denominations were issued. The earliest printed notes were called "Star Money" because of a prominent five-pointed star in the design. This engraved note was part of a series authorized in 1838. Dated February 26, 1839, it bears interest of 10% interest per annum. The signatures of Republic of Texas President, Mirabeau B. Lamar, and Treasurer, Richard G. Dunlap, are barely discernable.

Texas Currency Collection, Special Collections, The University of Texas at Arlington