University of Texas at Arlington

Scholarly Communication

News blog

Tag: copyright

Mythbusting 101: Reflecting on a Year of Open

by Michelle Reed Dec 21 2017 - 4:16pm
Year of Open 2017

Earlier this year, the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) published “OER Mythbusting.” The document identifies seven common myths related to open educational resources (OER) and presents facts to counter the myths. In my discussions with UTA faculty and administrators about OER over the past year, I’ve been asked to address a few of the myths in multiple conversations. Below I’ll discuss these and others I’ve encountered in my time at UTA.

“OER are just free resources.”

Conflating free and open is incredibly common. However, the distinction is important....

Your Work, Your Rights: Retain Your Copyright

by Jody Bailey Oct 2 2017 - 5:21pm
A doctoral student wants to reuse a journal article she published a few months ago in her forthcoming article-based dissertation. A history faculty member wants to distribute an article he wrote to all his students.  A sociology scholar creates an amazing infographic and publishes it as part of a journal article then later decides to reuse it in a book. An animal behavior researcher creates a series of photographs of an experiment that tests the cognitive capacity of capuchin monkeys and publishes these photos to illustrate the research in a scholarly journal; her colleague wants to use one...

Pioneer of Open Education Presents at UTA

by Michelle Reed Jun 21 2017 - 7:16pm
David Wiley presents at UTA Libraries

Yesterday UTA Libraries in partnership with the LINK Research Lab welcomed Dr. David Wiley, a pioneer of open education, to campus for a public presentation held in the Central Library.

The event kicked off with an announcement about the UTA CARES grant program, sponsored by the Libraries, which recently awarded its first round of grants in support of projects that further open education at UTA. In 2017, the Libraries awarded four grants to Dr. Sharareh Kermanshachi (Civil Engineering), Bret Lathwell (Sociology), Dr. Mohan Pant (Curriculum and Instruction), and Alicia Soueid (Modern...