

Congressional Record

PROCEEDINGS AND DEBATES OF THE 103^d CONGRESS, FIRST SESSION

Vol. 139

WASHINGTON, MONDAY, MAY 10, 1993

No. 64

House of Representatives

UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS AT ARLINGTON MOVIN MAVS

HON. MARTIN FROST OF TEXAS

HON. JOE BARTON

OF TEXAS

IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Monday, May 10, 1993

Mr. FROST. Mr. Speaker, as Congressmen representing the city of Arlington, TX, and on behalf of the entire Texas congressional delegation, we would like to convey our congratulations to the University of Texas at Arlington Wheelchair Basketball Team.

On February 28, 1993, the UTA Movin Mave captured their third consecutive national championship. On Thursday of this week, they will become the first wheelchair basketball national champs to be received by the President of the United States in the White House.

Our State is, of course, very proud of this extraordinary team. And, people throughout our Nation as well can find inspiration in the individual battle that each team member waged to overcome disability and become a champion.

Our thanks and our congratulations to the 1993 UTA Movin Mavs Wheelchair Basketball Team:

James Anthony Hayes, coach; Lee Castillo, assistant coach; Chee Ho, assistant coach; Juan Pulido, manager; Jesus Alamillo; William Hernandez; Bobby Holcomb; Don Bradley Michael; Chhalyl Mak; Phung Tran; Dennis Harrison; Jason C. Van Beek; and Ciprian Falcon.